Current cart in use:


In Stock









Nothing Concrete
  • Artist: Various Artists
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 5060113760012
  • Item #: SRD137600
  • Genre: Electronic
  • Release Date: 3/14/2006
  • This product is a special order
  • Rank: 1000000000
Price: $14.05

You May Also Like


Nothing Concrete on CD

A review from SLUG MAGAZINE 99x/10 = folktronica a la Beth Orton +/- William Orbit + incidental film music +/- The Album Leaf Former Cure keyboardist and Moog enthusiast Roger O'Donnell has busied himself with the task of starting a record label focusing on a cocktail made of electronics and organic instrumentation. Nothing Concrete, a collection of bands who O'Donnell has either signed to the label or has an expressed interest in, plays out like the classic 4ad compilation Lonely is an Eyesore in that while technically speaking the bands featured are lumped together in a genre but at the same time their personalities, quirks and nuances set them apart from each other. Like the incidental music from the Lost in Translation soundtrack Nothing Concrete captures a mood that is both melancholy and warm. While Cure fans might be somewhat shocked to find that O'Donnell's two tracks sound nothing little like his former band there is more than enough reason to look forward to his impending full length release. Highlights also include the jaw dropping cinematic tracks from Goddamn Electric Bill, the Sigur Ros by way of Beth Orton sound of The Maybe, the space jazz cabaret of Erin Lang, the electronic scrapings of Somnolent, Dead Waiter and Sensory Factory. I like Ecce's warm, circular swaying of guitars, organ and electronics as well. 99X/10 has the makings of a label where each release is as highly anticipated as the last regardless of which artist it happens to be. Ryan Michael Painter - SLUG MAGAZINE.