Current cart in use:


In Stock









Welcome to My Wonderful Show
  • Artist: The Afrosheens
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 625989172526
  • Item #: SRD917252
  • Genre: Rock
  • Release Date: 3/19/2002
  • This product is a special order
  • Rank: 1000000000
Price: $12.55

You May Also Like


Welcome to My Wonderful Show on CD

'Welcome To My Wonderful Show' is the third release by The Afrosheens, which is essentially a solo album by multi-instrumentalist Afshin Beheshti, an atmospheric musical journey into what he calls his one-man empire of sound. Afshin, also a member of the ethereal Divided Body, performs the majority of the instruments on the album, creating atypical arrangements on keyboards, guitars, bass, woodwinds, percussion, piano, and mandolin. These arrangements compliment the record's deft songwriting, introducing experimental elements without losing accessibility. Like the rest of his albums this album is unencumbered by any specific style, yet is cohesive in perspective. The song's lyrics compliment this musical approach, as Afshin's sincere, heartfelt words and singing manage to be humorous, serious, silly, hopeful and melancholy at the same time. 'Welcome To My Wonderful Show' is his invitation to the audience to visit an introspective impressionistic landscape, a personal sonic panorama. This album debuted on the CMJ top 200 charts at #145 and is still getting air play. Afshin's musical journey began in fourth grade, when he began to learn saxophone and piano in Minneapolis. The Afrosheens project commenced 7 years ago in Minneapolis, when Beheshti purchased a 4-track tape recorder and began making tapes for friends. In 1998, after moving to Tallahassee for physics graduate school, he released a limited edition CD, 'No Photos', and put together a four-piece group to perform his compositions on stage. Up until that time, Beheshti had only played live with jazz groups. During 1999, Afshin played solo shows using pre-recorded keyboard tracks as his backup band. In January 2000 he released The Afrosheens second album 'The Persian Expressway.' He gathered a new ensemble together, featuring numerous talents from local Tallahassee bands, to perform material from 'The Persian Expressway' live. On 7/24/01 he released his third album 'Welcome To My Wonderful Show.' Recently he has stripped the live shows to a three piece. With this line up The Afrosheens performed at the 2001 CMJ Music Marathon. Here are some reviews from the second and third albums: 'Strange and Beautiful' -Team Clermont 'Beheshti's influences are jumbled together in colorful profusion... This CD is lo-fi in the best way --unadorned by the desire to conform to any known formula.' -Tallahassee Democrat '... can either be taken for off centered narcissism, or high-minded conceptualism, until you realize Beheshti has quite a talent for arrangement. On repeated listening, what seems to be feckless meandering takes on a definite pattern. I'm reminded of bands like Guided by Voices and Thinking Fellars Union #424. Rhythm machine, mandolin, super-distorted guitars, real drums, bass and acoustic guitars morph and swirl with different styles. The outcome is both amusing and confounding. Syd Barret fans should find this fun.' -Pulse of the Twin Cities '...Beheshti has a definite talent for arranging.' -Shredding Paper.