Current cart in use:


In Stock













Down in the Depths-Interpretations of Cole Porter
  • Artist: Alex Leonard
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 808179000124
  • Item #: 136424X
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Release Date: 12/4/2001
  • This product is a special order
Price: $22.16
Share Twitter

You May Also Like


Down in the Depths-Interpretations of Cole Porter on CD

'...the disc is a class act. If you love jazz and Cole Porter, this CD will start your year off right.' '...superb piano playing'. 'Alex Leonard and a group of terrific musicians have some serious jazz chops that make for a highly enjoyable recording.' - David Hurst, Show Business 'Down in the Depths should be added to the list of illustrious, unique recorded performances of Cole Porter songs and is recommended. -Dave Nathan, 'One of the most superb, finest Cole Porter collections made in recent years... It is rare to see a collection of Cole Porter as well-crafted as this one, and this is the one to top for sheer integrity and attention to what the late Cole Porter was musically creating in song form. DOWN IN THE DEPTHS is a classic approach to the music of Cole Porter, and it is flawless. Highly recommended. Perfect. - Lee Prosser, 'Very elegant, very beautiful music... first class job' - Joey Reynolds, WOR Radio, New York. 'Alex Leonard has the kind of smooth, urbane voice that fits Porter to a tee...' 'Leonard is a swinging, sexy pianist...' - Jerome Wilson, Cadence Magazine '...Leonard is an important mainstay of the Big Apple, as his 2001 debut release Down in the Depths can attest to.' - Bradley Torreano, All Music Guide 'Every now and then, though not often, I am surprised and delighted to be so. Your CD... was just such an occassion. It is wonderful and has received much airplay on our 100,000 watt radio station.' - Bruce Tater KETR-FM Radio, Texas. 'Leonard superbly masters the piano...' '...smooth mellow voice backed by music of the same ilk.' - Laurie Lawson, 'With a very similar wit, Leonard has taken some Porter classics and some suprises and rearranged rhythm signatures, swapped tempos, rescored for interesting subgroups within his band, and draped his workmanlike, friendly tenor voice over the top.' - Ken Egbert, Jazz Now 'I have just come into possession of a recently released CD and it quickly claimed a place in the 'treasured' section of my record collection. The title is Down in the Depths: Interpretations of Cole Porter. [The songs]... Alex takes an approach to each that's fresh and different.' - Mike Azzara, Staten Island Advance. ............... Featured in venues from Manhattan to Tokyo and Europe, pianist/vocalist Alex Leonard performs a repertoire of improvised music and great American standards. Down In The Depths: Interpretations of Cole Porter (Library of Congress catalog number: LCCN-2002597038) features newly newly arranged and re-harmonized compositions by Cole Porter. In this recording, a combination of instrumental and vocal performances, he manages to produce a unique approach to the music while maintaining a strong link to the best of the tradition. The name Cole Porter may conjure up a nostalgic image- a wistful yearning for a by-gone day America, specifically in Manhattan, where nightlife was filled with a certain style, grace, elegance, glamour and sophistication. While this romantic imagery is pleasant, the value of Porter's music has a life far beyond the confines of it's era. Through the years, Cole Porter's music has been stylistically interpreted by many artists. This recording continues in the tradition by offering a variety of interpretations of his music. Many of these arrangements have been fashioned and presented with a unique point of view. At the same time, Alex has remained sensitive to the composer's intention and overall design. This album includes some of the finest jazz musicians from the New York City area including: Al Gafa (guitar), Paul Rostock (bass), Vito Lesczak (drums), Ed Jackson (congas), Don Hahn (trumpet), Ralph LaLama (Sax), Gary Smulyan (Sax), John Mosca (trombone), Jimmy Knepper (trombone). Also check out Alex's new holiday album (available here at CD Baby) 'Merry Cool Christmas'

We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details