Current cart in use:


In Stock













  • Artist: Alexey Kruglov
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 634479816222
  • Item #: SRD981622
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Release Date: 6/17/2008
Price: $22.14
Share Twitter

You May Also Like


Transfiguration on CD

Until recently it was thought that there was no new jazz in Moscow. But as soon as Alexey Kruglov took part in two international jazz competitions, everyone became aware of the fact that the jazz map of Russia has drastically changed. Alexey Kruglov was born not far from Moscow in 1979, started learning piano in a music school. Later he studied at Sergei Kazarnovsky's "Class-centre" where people take children's and youth's creative work seriously. He was taught improvization by Arkady Shilkloper. It was Yury Saulsky who supported Alexey Kruglov's desire to compose music. As a result, one of his compositions "Song - 494+I" won a special prize at the mini-festival in "The Blue Bird" jazz club. The composition was written when the young saxophone player studied at the Gnesin Russian Academy of Music. Later he won the first place at the international jazz competition in Riga and participated in the jazz festival in Rostov-na-Donu. The year 2000 was especially successful for Alexey Kruglov: he took part in the Hermitage jazz festival, in the festival devoted to the memory of Willis Conover. He played with Gary Bartz in Moscow, twice took part in the multi-media performance "Fontana Re (Mix)" after John Cage at the "Alternativa" festival. And last but not least he won the title "the Hope of the Year" by Moscow Jazz Journalists Association "Jazz' Ear - 2000" after having performed with famous Russian musicians and composers Alex Rostotsky, Vladimir Chekasin and Yury Markin, with the poet Andrei Voznesensky and film-director Aleksander Mitta. Alexey Kruglov composed the score for the film "The Young Lady and the Hooligan." On this album he is helped by Sergey Khoutas (double bass), Alex Bekker and Vladimir Nesterenko - (piano) and Petr Talalay (drums) This album is the first release by A.Kruglov. Since then he has released 2 more albums - \'I Love\' in 2004, and \'Music of Anxiety\' in 2008.

We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details