Current cart in use:


In Stock









Alisha Through the Looking Glass
  • Artist: Alisha Sufit
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 884502747904
  • Item #: SRD274790
  • Genre: Folk
  • Release Date: 7/27/2010
  • This product is a special order
  • Rank: 1000000000
Price: $21.34

You May Also Like


Alisha Through the Looking Glass on CD

Notes by BASCA award-winning singer songwriter Karen Bates, London: 'Alisha Sufit first came to notice as singer-songwriter with the band Magic Carpet, whose album of the same name (released in 1972) has become something of a collector's item. Today, the voice, which Colin Irwin in the Melody Maker described as 'astonishing in it's range and power', has lost none of it's impact and is gloriously presented on this compilation. Her song writing now has greater depth ad maturity, and she covers a diversity of themes with ease, evoking humour and melancholy, touching on the planetary and the plaintive. To accompany her she has chosen a fine array of musicians, whose gifts complement the various styles and tempi of her material, and go a long way to making this album a real delight.' Davy Graham, the celebrated UK guitarist writes: 'No-one can teach you to sing as she does with that blend of passion and technique that recalls the purity of, say, Shirley Collins or Sandy Denny.' From Dirty Linen magazine: 'She is more expressive than ever and has recruited some excellent musicians such as Ray Warleigh on sax. The songs are, for the most part, quite sophisticated and some of them reveal a touch of whimsy. A few of the gems include Sleazy Geezer and Change Your Heart, on which Sufit accompanies herself on (Appalachian) dulcimer. (by Paul E. Comeau). From Folk Roots magazine (FRoots): 'She has a truly superb voice variously reminiscent of Sandy Denny, Joni Mitchell, Millicent Martin (now there's a name rarely mentioned in these pages), even Marlene Dietrich and Edith Piaf (in Tu Ne M'Aime Pas)'