Current cart in use:


In Stock











Behind the I
  • Artist: Andy Gibson
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 634479519451
  • Item #: SRD951945
  • Genre: Folk
  • Release Date: 6/19/2007
  • This product is a special order
  • Rank: 1000000000
Price: $16.76

You May Also Like


Behind the I on CD

Andy Gibson is an New Zealand based singer/songwriter of depth and sincerity. His voice is compelling and beautiful, and has a distinctively New Zealand character. In June he released his first full-length album, 'Behind the I'. Andy Gibson's music blends melodic pop/rock with strands of electronica and folk. Influences include Bright Eyes, Death Cab For Cutie, Radiohead and Jeff Buckley. Lyrically, Andy's songs tackle human issues, addressing both personal and global struggles. 'Behind the I' was released under Jody Lloyd's She'll Be Right Records. It was recorded between Andy's home studio and The Lab Studios. Cousin Sam Gibson (Sound Engineer for Neil Finn, Dave Dobbyn) mixed the album in the UK and mastering was done by Chris Winchcombe at York St. Studios. Musicians featured on the album come from many corners of NZ's music scene: Tui nominee Charmaine Ford on piano; Stephen Thomas (Spacifix) on drums; Dylan Storey on electric guitars, Sam Prebble on violin and harmonies by Reb Fountain. The centre-piece of the album is Andy's voice, with production moving between acoustic guitar, piano, bass and drums arrangements to electronic beats, strings and in places stripped back acapella. Andy Gibson began writing songs as a child, growing up in Auckland. Andy has spent a lot of time moving around. He has lived in Paris and Boston, Thailand and India and his time in New Zealand has been spread between Wellington, Auckland, Christchurch and Dunedin. In 2002, Andy released the EP "Side//A" (pictured below) after having studied Sound Engineering at SAE in Auckland and directly before going to India to learn to play the sitar. Andy now has a job as a researcher at AUT University, making use of his honours degree in sociolinguistics. Staying in one spot for more than a year has finally given him the chance to release 'Behind the I' and start telling his story.