Current cart in use:


In Stock













Diaspora Pulse
  • Artist: Anne H. Pollack
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 660662732925
  • Item #: SRD273292
  • Genre: International
  • Release Date: 9/27/2005
  • This product is a special order
Price: $11.66
Share Twitter

You May Also Like


Diaspora Pulse on CD

THE BEAT ... Vol. 25, No. 1, 2006 - March Issue 'The second album from New York multi-instrumentalist Anne Pollack, Diaspora Pulse (Magica Axe Music) is a very stimulating set of songs. Anne's connection to Brazilian music is very strong, through travel, study and collaboration with Brazilian musicians. Her reverent approach to Candomble rhythms weds nicely with her virtuoso performances on flutes, cello and vocals. A highly spiritual, free-form jazz excursion.' ~ Mara Weiss and Nego Beto ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Diaspora are considered to be peoples scattered from their homelands...which describes nearly all of human experience and ancestry. In music we can find both the map and the voice of the human heart and soul. WE ARE ALL DIASPORA. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 'DIASPORA PULSE' tells a musical tale of people scattered from their homelands. With cello, flutes (bamboo, ceramic, penny whistles, concert and alto flutes), percussion, keyboards, vocals and spoken word...there is a weaving together of the worlds of Haiti, Cuba, Brazil and the French West Indies...the the vast loom of Jazz grooves. Touched by elements of Brazilian Samba, Haitian Vodou, Afro-Cuban Santeria Chants and Incantations of Guadeloupe, she has expressed the soul of those who suffered displacement...and made themselves whole again with music. And, in telling these musical tales, she tells her own story. In the musical poetry of 'Diaspora Pulse,' Anne H. Pollack has let the songs play through her, as she participates in the process of this ever-emerging musical expression. An instrumentalist and songwriter with vast experience, her concept has been more deeply enhanced by her talent as a producer. Lose yourself in these rich tracks. You might just, in the process, find yourself there. ** A portion of the proceeds of this CD will be donated to the to aid the victims of the hurricanes of 2005.** ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Songs composed, arranged, engineered and performed by Anne H. Pollack on Flutes, Cello, Vocals, Keyboard, and Percussion Programming. Contributing musicians: Jephte Guillaume: percussion Tiye Giraud: percussion and vocals Barry Duke: percussion Tiga Jean-Baptiste: percussion Mark Kyrkostas: piano Rita Silva: percussion Sarah Trouslard: vocals.

We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details