Current cart in use:


In Stock









Simple Forms
  • Artist: Anomalous Quintet
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 796873017923
  • Item #: CDBY301792
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Release Date: 2/26/2008
  • This product is a special order
  • Rank: 1000000000
Price: $17.31

You May Also Like


Simple Forms on CD

Fine Grooved records announces it's latest release from Anomalous Quintet, Simple Forms. Simple Forms is the jazz-funk group's third CD and the follow-up to the critically acclaimed disc Life on an Oblate Spheroid (Fine Grooved Records), which called "fresh and innovative" and said "pushes the envelope of jazz to the hilt" and described as "luxuriant." Simple Forms includes nine original blues-inspired and groove-infected tunes written by guitarist and bandleader Jason Newsom. Each tune reconstructs a basic song form with catchy melodies, bold saxophone arrangements, and tasteful, sizzling jazz improvisations. Anomalous Quintet plays unusually original jazz with elements of funk, blues, rock, and soul music, featuring syncopated horns and slap-funk guitar. Based in Portland, Oregon and led by composer and guitarist Jason Newsom, the group is comprised of top notch musicians, Michael York on tenor sax, Daniel Covrett on baritone sax, Arcellus Sykes on bass, and Ronnie LaGrone on drums, who have individually performed or recorded with artists such as the Temptations, Lou Rawls, The Four Tops, Fred Wesley, Cee Cee James, Chris Barron, Kenny Rogers, the Del Vikings, Mel Brown, Janice Scroggins, and Thara Memory. "Originality punctuating every tune" "A quality production to the end" "Makes me truly sit up and take notice" "Anomalous Quintet, as an innovative, skilled group, comfortably captures my vote." -Ronald Jackson,