Current cart in use:


In Stock













  • Artist: Anthony Garcia
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 837101097727
  • Item #: CDBY97727
  • Genre: Easy Listening
  • Release Date: 10/25/2005
  • This product is a special order
Price: $11.69
Share Twitter

You May Also Like


Chapters on CD

Chapters is a compelling recording that is primarily soothing, focusing for moments on the pianist's technical abilities. Garcia mixes the placid colors of Satie and Debussy in tracks such as 'Kaishaku', with the darker emotion of Beethoven and the minimalism of Philip Glass in 'Quaternity'. While Chapters is a 'solo piano' work, it possesses the unpredictable spirit of improvisation more commonly associated with jazz, and takes risks where a typical 'new age' solo piano recording might not. The titles derive their inspiration from sources covering literature such as My Beatrice, referencing the character in Dante Alghieri's Divine Comedy; from religion in Mandala; from psychology in Quaternity, a psycho-religious concept by Austrian psychologist Carl Gustav Jung; and a simple dedication to a friend in An meine liebe Schwester, which means, when translated from the German, 'to my dear sister...'. Garcia digs deep not only musically but emotionally to connect to where he has been spiritually, mentally, and personally. 'Recording this album has served as a vehicle into figuring out who I am as a person, not necessarily a musician,' Garcia says, 'and I hope people can connect with what I am communicating....a need to find the time to reflect and figure out what's going on inside your head and heart'. Chapters is the first solo piano recording by Anthony Garcia. Please follow the link on this page to visit his website to check on news, performances, and to join the mailing list. Anthony Garcia is originally from Lubbock, Texas where he attended area schools and played in various rock groups. He went on to study music at Texas Tech University, receiving a degree in Music Education. During his studies in college, Garcia spent a year as an exchange student with his wife in Germany. There, his musical experiences varied from playing American covers on his guitar in pubs and on street corners, to playing concerts and recording with a Latin jazz group and performing as an accompanist to vocalists at the University and various events. Upon his return to the states in 1998, he completed his first CD entitled Water, featuring original songs with added ornaments of various orchestral and band instruments by his friends in the music program. He went on to direct choirs in public schools and churches, and played in bands in the Dallas/Fort Worth area before moving to New York City. In NYC, Garcia performed formed and made recordings with his own original group, They. He performed with various groups and songwriters in venues in and around the City. He also worked as a Music Therapist with Alzheimer's patients the MRDD population in Day Programs in Manhattan and Long island. He relocated to Lubbock,Texas in 2005 and is currently living there.

We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details