Current cart in use:


In Stock













  • Artist: Ape Quartet
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 837101320030
  • Item #: CDBY132003
  • Genre: Electronic
  • Release Date: 4/17/2007
  • This product is a special order
Price: $12.86
Share Twitter

You May Also Like


Sedatellite on CD

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPOSING A BIO FOR APE QUARTET The most important thing is that the bio be readable and entertaining. A little self-deprecation is OK. Nothing in the bio should seem like a conscious attempt to make Ape Quartet or it's music sound cool. The music should speak for itself, and the band members are just not cool. Despite Mark's penchant for wearing leather pants, at heart he and Chris are nerds who like to twiddle black boxes with flashing lights. High concept is OK; if working with zoos, animals, quartets, etc., inspires you, go for it. But those are just ideas. In no particular order, here's what the content should comprise, if possible: - Mark Killian and Christophe Beck are successful film/TV composers. Mark's credits = Tsotsi, Rendition, Day Break. Chris's = Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Under the Tuscan Sun, Pink Panther remake. - Mark and Chris met working together on some really lame movies, which shall not, under any circumstances, be named. Let's just say you might catch them at 2 AM on Cinemax. [Ask Mark or Chris: Does Cinemax even exist anymore?] Actually, don't even mention the lame movie part. Just say that they met professionally and realized they shared a common interest in electronic music. They got bored listening to insane directors and producers telling them to 'make it orange' and thus Ape was born. (Obviously, omit the 'insane directors, etc.' part.) Ape answers only to Ape now, and Ape are (is?) happy. - Ape Quartet likes Underworld, Boards of Canada, Trentemøller, Chemical Brothers, Björk, Daft Punk, Art Bell, Japanese Pop Ballads, African tribal chants, and sometimes even jazz. - AQ made an album in 2001 called 'Please Where Do We Live?'. Ape Quartet is about to release their second full-length studio album, tentatively titled 'Please Feed the Animals'. (Mark doesn't like that title very much, but stick it in as a placeholder and he'll come around.) There may be more, but that should do it for now. Update as more press clippings become available.

We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details