Current cart in use:


In Stock









It Is Sour Data
  • Artist: Audio Artists
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 825346470726
  • Item #: SRD647072
  • Genre: Electronic
  • Release Date: 1/25/2005
  • This product is a special order
  • Rank: 1000000000
Price: $16.75

You May Also Like


It Is Sour Data on CD

United in the manufacture and use of homemade non-keyboard synthesizers, the Audio Artists boldly chart the ground between the technological, no logical and scatological traditions. Drawn together by their common interest in creating music with esoteric instruments, the Audio Artists are more of a 'science project than a band'. They deliver a full spectrum of musical expression ranging from 'danceable techno tango to electronica disharmonica'. Their third full-length CD - It Is Sour Data - is now available for your musical and intellectual enjoyment. The Audio Artists break with any categorizable type of conventional pop music. Most of their sounds are generated by electronic 'boxes' that are designed and created by the musicians themselves (take a look/listen on the AA website). Members range in background from those who are totally resistant to normal musical conventions to those with advanced musical degrees and mad audio engineering skills. Other unusual instruments are used in both their original and modified forms. A Bob Moog Etherwave Theremin, for instance, is played alongside a custom-made Theremaniac Brassiere (check out the video of the mercurial Alice Malloy deploying the theremin bra in all it's glory while you're on the AA site). An Audio Artist live show is often an experience in the tradition of Cab Calloway, P.T. Barnum, General Augusto Pinochet and the Romans. Live Mattel PXL Vision feeds, 1920's erotica from the King of Spain's private collection and other sundry visuals mix with ease, usually ensuring an evening of perplexing stimulus and 'pretty good' entertainment. Don Hill, owner of Don Hill's, a legendary nightclub in downtown NYC, commented: 'I've been in music for a long time and I've never seen or heard anything like this.' It Is Sour Data is the perfect follow-up to the Audio Artists' second CD - a live multi-media performance recorded at the HERE Collaborative Multi-Arts Center in downtown Manhattan. A recent comment from a typical listener was: 'The tracks are all short'.