Current cart in use:


In Stock











Cloud Forest
  • Artist: The Barn Owl Band
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 783707402291
  • Item #: CDBY740229
  • Genre: Folk
  • Release Date: 9/26/2012
  • Rank: 1000000000
Price: $14.81

You May Also Like


Cloud Forest on CD

Cloud Forest is a loving collection of studio and live recordings the Barn Owls have done over the last several years, alternating between powerful fiddle-driven tune medleys and gentle waltzes and vocal numbers. This CD shows the Barn Owls at their eclectic, genre-bending best (how about Celtic, Traditional, New Age Acoustic, Swing, and Blues, for starters?) Collectively, it's a superb tribute to the tunesmiths in the band, with the title track being penned by Mike Bell. Some highlights include: *The Cloud Forest, the much-requested waltz tune featured in our performance on “A Prairie Home Companion” in 2002, in a studio version that shows off all the nuances of this haunting tune by Mike Bell. *Dr. Jazz / Peacock Rag, done live in concert, calling back to the roaring 20’s with an Owlish combination of Roger’s jive vocals and instrumental sparkle, and ending with a flashy fiddle tune that Jason has played at countless fiddle contests. *Arc of Life, an original vocal number by Jon, backed by harmony vocals and catchy instrumental tags. *Irish-American / Ships are Sailing / Popcorn, driven by Merle’s exuberant banjo in one of our favorite medleys for contradance backup. It even spoons out a little “Shortnin’ Bread” for the dancers! *Johnny Cope / Bunch of Keys*, feature up-and-coming fiddler/multi-instrumentalist Ehler Orngard on an extended fiddle solo into a hard-driving Irish reel in B minor. *Tuscan Suite, from the pen of Brad Johnson and a “tune sandwich” featuring three mandolins, fiddle, guitar and Marty’s hard-driving bass. A live in concert track, you have to hear this one to believe it. *Closing the Cottage, another Mike Bell original, in a studio version that beautifully evokes the emotions of “season’s end”. The Barn Owl Band features: * Roger Alexander - piano, accordion, pennywhistle, vocals * Michael Bell - mandolin, 4-string banjo, vocals * Jon Duvick - guitar, vocals, bass * Merle Hall - 5-string banjo, background vocals * Jason Huntley - fiddle * Brad Johnson - mandolin, bouzouki * Marty Miller - bass, percussion * Ehler Orngard - fiddle, bodhran, percussion, pennywhistle, background vocals.