Current cart in use:


In Stock









Bedroom Scene
  • Artist: Bedroom Scene
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 634479300479
  • Item #: SRD930047
  • Genre: Rap/Hip Hop
  • Release Date: 5/2/2006
  • Rank: 1000000000
Price: $17.91

You May Also Like


Bedroom Scene on CD

Press / Media: 'I just got the Bedroom Scene CD which I absolutely love.' - Alexander King, RPM Music Director, WRAS Atlanta 'Met A Girl is my new favorite song.' - Chris Douridas, 'New Ground', KCRW Los Angeles 'It's said that fine art often comes from pain; the mating of discomfort with desire can produce something special. That's if you're not consumed by it before birth. J.Holmes' impressive release Bedroom Scene is here and he ought to be all smiles and proud.' - Chris Pauls, Contributing Writer, The Onion Bio: J.Holmes is a musician, songwriter, and producer living in Los Angeles. Until recently, he made his home in the San Francisco bay area. It was there he played keyboards for the soul-jazz band Overgold, performing regularly in nightclubs around town, and recording, producing and releasing the group's self titled CD. At this same time he was busy producing and deejaying on various underground hip hop tapes. He is assembling a compilation of these tracks to be released in the near future, to be entitled Woodward Sessions. He worked an office job in SF to support his musical endeavors, but soon grew bored of the nine to five life. So with a small savings from that day job he departed on a yearlong round-the-world trip, backpacking throughout Southeast Asia, India, and Europe. When he returned home he set to work in his studio. The result of those recordings is his first solo album. Bedroom Scene is a concept / trip hop / indie record. While it has it's individual songs, ideally the album is intended to be heard as one aural collage piece. The music itself ranges from heavy, plodding, trip hop beats, to Satie-style piano instrumentals. From spooky pseudo-ragtime sing-alongs, to groovy bossa nova loops sprinkled with fender rhodes melodies. The record celebrates the lives and fantasy lives of various down-and-out real-life characters - loners and misfits, has beens and wanna bes, the misunderstood and the misled. And while the subjects may sometimes seem pathetic, the artist's portraits are never less than sincere. They are drawn with compassion, understanding, and most of all, humor. It's this sly sense of humor that is maintained throughout, even while backed by often haunting and beautiful musical themes.