Current cart in use:


In Stock









Spare Change
  • Artist: Beeman & Bannon Band
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 826517000124
  • Item #: 138088X
  • Genre: Folk
  • Release Date: 10/24/2006
  • This product is a special order
  • Rank: 1000000000
Price: $19.36

You May Also Like


Spare Change on CD

Barbara Beeman and Bill Bannon have performed folk/blues and novelty music together for decades. On previous recordings,one old time music reviewer wrote 'Miss Beeman's boop-a-doop Bowery manner evokes Helen Kane and even, at times, Mae West. She decorates her songs with kiss-curl sauciness.' Peter Stamfel of the Unholy Model Rounders said that Barbara 'has been capturing the spirit of Ruth Etting since before I met her.' David Hinckley of The Daily News said in his review of 'So The Story Goes,' that Beeman's strong voice works with the band in a nice variety of styles. Spare Change was put together with the help of David Cohen (guitar/piano - of Country Joe & the Fish), Mike Gatton (bass), Mark Whitecage (saxophone) and of course features Bill Bannon's beautiful acoustic guitar styling and arrangements. From 'Elmer's Tune' to a new sweet arrangement of the Platters 'Twilight Time,' the group works again in a variety of musical styles including some sexy saxophone playing by Mark Whitecage & hot piano by David Cohen. Barbara Beeman is also featured on a Tom Wesselmann (pop artist) song called 'Pictures on the Wall of Your Heart' which is on Jeff Gordon's Artsounds Collaborative record. Besides Spare Change, Barbara & Bill have produced & recorded 'Candy From Strangers,' 'Moving Day,' and 'So The Story Goes.' The first two were recorded with Larry McBride of Marimac Records. Other musicians featured on their recordings include Ted Dunn (electric guitar), Rob Hunter (banjo playing father of Charlie Hunter/also recording engineer) Tony Gutierrez,(drummer), Drew Smith (autoharp).