Current cart in use:


In Stock













First One Free
  • Artist: Blufunk
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 783707780023
  • Item #: CDBY778002
  • Genre: Rock
  • Release Date: 11/11/2003
  • This product is a special order
Price: $19.14
Share Twitter

You May Also Like


First One Free on CD

Blufunk's first release, 'First One Free' is a kaleidoscope of style and story that reveals a passion for truth and an unadulterated love of music. In a musical climate that's self consciously self-conscious, Blufunk's pioneering it's own sound by doing what comes naturally: shooting from the heart. The album is a shining reflection of what rock and roll used to be; the emotion of a Duane Allman lead, the raw energy of a Bonham beat, the heartfelt lyrics of a Billy Joel song. A little bit country, a little bit rock and roll. The band's founding members and songwriting team, Adrienne Brazley and Pete Penebre, have been playing together since 1987. Penebre's a southern blues guitar player reincarnated as a New York Italian. Brazley's a mulatto-gypsy jack-of-all-trades performer; drummer-singer-songwriter who's musical influences range from Steely Dan to Jaco Pastorius. It's this partnership that forms the backbone of Blufunk's sound. Penebre grew up on The Allman Brother's, Little Feat, Jeff Beck, Hendrix. His guitar style glides from southern fried slide leads to funk chops and chicken-picking rhythms. Brazley contributes lyrical, at times humorous portraits of experiences with people and places, and a rich and varied vocal tone that takes it's cues from the character of each song. Her ear for intricate harmonies harkens to the backups of Stevie Wonder and Joni Mitchell. In 1999, Penebre and Brazley formed Blufunk with Craig Lauinger, a hard-rock drummer with a background in Jazz arrangement. In 2001, bassist Gary Brown joined the band, an alumna of George Clinton's Parliament. Penebre produced and engineered the band's first album (First One Free) in his DC project studio (Brazley and Penebre have a business composing music for picture). It's a homegrown project with a big studio sound; shining bright and bursting with energy. Anyone who likes music will want to hear this album.

We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details