Current cart in use:


In Stock













Assume Nothing
  • Artist: Bob MacKenzie
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 624193040621
  • Item #: CDBY40621
  • Genre: Spoken
  • Release Date: 1/2/2001
  • This product is a special order
Price: $14.38
Share Twitter

You May Also Like


Assume Nothing on CD

Bob MacKenzie & Poem de Terre The Bob MacKenzie Group (Poem de Terre) is a multi-disciplinary ensemble melding live folk music and spoken word with contemporary and more established musical forms. Begun in the summer of 1993 by the six artists performing in Beyond the Light, the ensemble now known as Poem de Terre has evolved organically to develop a sound and style unique to the Kingston, Ontario music scene, featuring a strong repertoire of original material as well as rearranged versions of music and spoken word pieces previously performed or recorded by other artists. While the musical style of Poem de Terre's material crosses all genres, at heart the music is folk. Building upon this foundation of folk music, Poem de Terre draws upon many influences to create music for the new millenium. As much as the music, words are central to Poem de Terre's work, bringing stories and ideas to the community in the form of live performance. Poem de Terre features an ever-changing ensemble cast, ranging in size from 4 to 12 members on stage depending on the occasion (more than 40 people have performed as part of Poem de Terre through the years). The one constant is group leader Bob MacKenzie, around whose poetry the group was founded. In the summers of 1996, 1997, and 2001, Poem de Terre presented summer-long outdoor concert series at historic Newlands Pavilion in Kingston Ontario. The 2001 series drew artists from across Ontario and the Eastern United States. The Poem de Terre philosophy It's good to be creative and to contribute your ideas; it's also good to listen to others and to learn from your colleagues. Where no one is the star, each one gets to shine as part of the whole. Respect for one's self, respect for one's colleagues, respect for the audience -- all are part of a professional attitude. Doing the best one can is good; perfectionism is not. We are professionals. Poem de Terre is a business. However, if we cannot have a good time doing what we do, and if we cannot impart that feeling to the audience, then it is not worth doing. As well as a business, we are also a community and an integral part of the larger community in which we live. Poem de Terre is about saying something worthwhile and it is about love. From Review by Betsy MacDonald ( With twenty explorative songs and the creativity of several different musicians, Assume Nothing is a project that has produced dazzling results. A balanced combination of spoken word and singing from different vocalists, this album is hard to turn off midway. ... 'Pyramid' touches on more serious subject matter than other songs on Assume Nothing, revealing to a fuller extent MacKenzie's astounding talent as a writer. ... Although this album is entitled 'Assume Nothing', it would be safe to assume one thing: this is a CD not to be missed. From Review by Jon Sears (PiC Press): This enhanced CD offers top entertainment value for anyone who has access to CD-ROM technology (CDN $18.99). Setting aside the bonus of navigating session notes, lyric sheets, biographies, photos and a complete mystery novel entitled Ghost Shadow, the music on Assume Nothing - 20 songs, three producers, five vocalists, six instrumentalists, and more than a dozen composers - stands on it's own. It's eclectic entertainment and an intriguing experiment. Discography 2006: War & Love, compact disc, 18 songs [16 original] 2002: Live at Newlands Pavilion, Part One: Folk, compact disc, 12 songs (recorded in Summer of 2001) [10 original] 2002: Live at Newlands Pavilion, Part Two: Rock, compact disc, 13 songs (recorded in Summer of 2001) [all original] 1999: Assume Nothing, compact disc, 20 songs [all original] 1995: Pyramid, 4 track recording on cassette, 9 songs [all original] 1994: Windfall, 4-track recording on cassette, 8 songs [all original]

We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details