Current cart in use:


In Stock











Second Chances
  • Artist: Danika Holmes
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 884501289740
  • Item #: CDBY128974
  • Genre: Rock
  • Release Date: 3/23/2010
  • This product is a special order
  • Rank: 1000000000
Price: $19.13
Share Twitter

You May Also Like


Second Chances on CD

Danika's debut album, "Second Chances" is a collection of life stories and personal experiences. A country influence can be heard in the instrumentals and bluesy undertones throughout the vocals. An acoustic guitar sound is central, while congas, smooth grooves, harmonies, and guitar riffs have also helped to create Danika's unique feel. Each of the eleven songs has a specific purpose. Most all people can relate to the title track "Second Chances." Who doesn't need a second chance at some point in life? Although starting over can be extremely challenging, it can turn into a positive change. What is done with the second chance is what matters. "Annie May" is a kitchen table conversation that takes place between an elderly woman and Danika. The message of the song encourages young people to take time to learn from the stories of those who have years of life experiences. "Unlit Match" is a soulful declaration of the hidden potential inside all of us. Other life stories are told in "Half as Strong as You" and "Time for a Change." A message of hope for better times is heard in "Pockets Full of Gold" and an inner struggle about loneliness with a fun twist is heard in "Lock Me In Tonight." The last song of the album, "Dear Friends" is an upbeat fun song dedicated to Danika's family, friends, and fans. While the song is personal to Danika, anyone who has ever leaned on loved ones, or been there for a friend in a tough situation can relate. All songs on the album were written or co-written by Danika. Co-writing partner Paul Hamilton was a major contributor to the songs. Additionally, all songs were recorded and produced by Paul Hamilton at Big White House Studios in Illinois. Drew Witherell was assistant sound engineer. In addition to Paul playing instrumentals on the tracks, other musicians included Jeb Hart (guitar and bass), and Nick Fairley (drums). Backup vocals were sung by BethAnn Wirth and Barbara Worsfold.