Show results for


In Stock















  • Artist: The Exkursions
  • Label: Born Twice
  • UPC: 845121042801
  • Item #: 908X
  • Genre: Heavy Metal
  • Release Date: 12/6/2011
  • This product is a special order
Price: $13.26
Share Twitter

You May Also Like


Exkursions on CD

High-octane power rock trio of Mike Johnson, Fyl Jonnzen and Leon Wilson, their custom album absolutely blitzing through eight tunes of heavy blues-influenced material in the vein of Hendrix and Cream. No muffled sounds here - the production is top-notch and the guitars shine forth loud and mean, heavily imbrued with '60s psych effects (originally released in 1971). Singer/lead guitarist Johnson gives an exceptional performance; he contributed a number of fine solo albums in the '70s, but none of them cook with near the intensity of this baby. 'Third Eye' is a good example; after starting with some bizarre psycho-babble, the piece breaks into a fierce minute-and-a-half electric guitar jam (recalling Stu Heiss' opening solo in Rez Band's 'White Noise'). 'Dry Ground' is another standout, it's fast-driving Hendrix groove outfitted with a killer searing guitar lead. 'Baby You Lied,' a love-gone-bad slow blues rocker sounds like one of those lengthy Derek & the Dominoes tracks, with wild stereo separation that I'm sure made many a hippie smile back then. Dual rhythm guitar and leads give the band a fuller sound than most trios. Wah-wah and fuzz effects abound, sometimes together as on the opening CCR-ish 'Picture Woman.' Good solid drum work throughout, too, including a solo opportunity at the beginning of the heavily fuzzed 'Would You Believe,' a smooth piece of soft jazz that Mike also included on his Velvet Prince album. Great psychedelic cover art to match. Says on the back they formed in Chicago in 1968, their sound "spawned out of Chicago's own particular blend of jazz, blues and rock." This one delivers in everyway! On the 2011 Born Twice Records: Legends Remastered Volume Three you can hear this legendary release in digital format, remastered by specialist J Powell of Steinhaus. Everything is packaged in a beautiful 6 panel digipak that even includes a band biography that is helpsful for new fans! For fans of Hendrix, Cream, early Resurrection Band! Collect all of the Legends Remastered special series that resurrects classic Jesus Music and Christian rock releases from the 70's! See also Amaziah & Bill Mason Band for Volumes 1 & 2 of this collectible series. KEY SELLING POINTS • Long out of print • Highly collectible classic Jesus Music release remastered on CD • Included in Ken Scott's collector's book The Archivist 4th Edition OF Jesus Music classics TRACKS 01. Picture Woman 02. Dry Ground 03. Baby You Lied 04. What Happened To Me 05. Third Eye 06. You & Me 07. It's Been Set Down 08. Would You Believe.