Current cart in use:


In Stock













  • Artist: Gloria Attoun
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 783707220406
  • Item #: CDBY722040
  • Genre: Folk
  • Release Date: 12/6/2005
  • This product is a special order
Price: $22.19
Share Twitter

You May Also Like


Seeds on CD

Gloria Attoun writes intelligent, well-crafted lyrics, creates beautiful melodies, sings superbly and has a gaggle of the best musicians in eastern Missouri backing her up on her solo CD 'Seeds.' Styles range all over the map; it's almost all acoustic except for a cut with her son's rock band. One track on the disc is 'Quiet', a piece about a family fight that is so emotionally on-target that it's scary. Lots of lighter stuff too, including 'My Lost Dog' and 'Going Down to the Water'. 'The Arrowhead' is a masterpiece with textures and layers of percussion intertwined with a lyrical comment about possessions. 'Be My, Be My' has an anthem-like quality that goes straight to the heart. 'Waltz for Three Children' is a great Klezmer, clarinet/mandolin instrumental. This CD is packed with fourteen unique songs that dig deep. Gloria Attoun has been writing songs since she was a teenager. Although this is her first solo CD, she has also recorded three other cds with the band, Augusta Bottoms Consort. She writes, sings and plays a variety of acoustic instruments. Producing is as much of the creative process as is the writing and performing which shows in her incomparable arrangements. She enjoys using different textures created by percussion instruments, mandolin, guitars, dobro, acoustic bass, accordion, fiddle and more. Her North African heritage plus exposure to traditional American music, classical music, Bob Dylan, The Beatles and music from around the world has given her songs a unique and refreshing sound. 'I know a good'un when I hear it, and this is a good'un. You should hear it too.' -- Paul Stamler Host 'No Time to Tarry Here' KDHX-FM & contributor to 'Sing Out' magazine 'Every song is memorable, vividly coming to life, a perfect combination of Gloria's wonderful voice, lyrics and magnificent accompaniment.' --Howard Schwartz--author of 'Tree of Souls' 'The songs on 'Seeds' are pure, organically grown from the soul and go right to the depths of human emotion.' --Emmily Higgins--Singer/Songwriter.

We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details