Current cart in use:


In Stock









Cut Them Into Swans
  • Artist: A Hundred and Eighty One Powers
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 837101415088
  • Item #: SRD141508
  • Genre: Rock
  • Release Date: 1/15/2008
  • This product is a special order
  • Rank: 1000000000
Price: $8.05

You May Also Like


Cut Them Into Swans on CD

Her first album "Cut them into Swans" has been described as "a mo-town themed barn dance disguised as a rock show with a folk/soul singer." A Hundred and Eighty One Powers is essentially Jessica Davenport and trusted friends. Her unique brand of songwriting blends the classical vocal training she received as a teenager with the creative process she's learned to utilize as an architect. Always a rotating cast of characters, her band brings a hard rock aesthetic to Jessica's heartfelt foundation. Seeking to defy the singer-songwriter label, the band on "Cut them into Swans" claims to be the best bar band ever; with Jessica as the brawl stopping, crowd hushing front woman, of course. Written over the course of five years, the songs on this album reveal a startling vulnerability and honesty. During those years, Jessica graduated from the University of Cincinnati with her masters in architecture; she also lived and worked as an architect in Nashville, San Francisco, New Orleans, New Mexico and ultimately New York City. While doing cost estimates for flooded public buildings in post Katrina New Orleans, Jessica began playing songs publicly, crafting them for the band she would find in Williamsburg. The remaining cast of characters that makes up A Hundred and Eighty One Powers is Tom Carley on bass (Homesick for Space and I Robot) Garrett Landes on electric guitar and Ty Duncan on drums. Jessica currently lives and works in New York City; she will be touring in early 2008.