Current cart in use:


In Stock











Blues in Me
  • Artist: J. Derrickson Project
  • UPC: 884501341295
  • Item #: CDBY134129
  • Genre: Blues
  • Release Date: 6/22/2010
  • This product is a special order
  • Rank: 1000000000
Price: $17.99
Share Twitter

You May Also Like


Blues in Me on CD

"The Blues In Me" by The J.Derrickson Project All songs written, arranged & performed by James Derrickson. Known for playing a broad mixture of musical styles during his live performances, James Derrickson (aka: The J.Derrickson Project) realized that he had a fast growing love for the Blues, in particular. While playing bass in a three piece Blues band for 3 years back around 2000, he took his first stab at composing Blues tunes, and quickly recognized that it came fairly easy for him. After releasing two R&B CD's in 2003 and 2007, James decided the time was right to fulfill a dream of composing and recording an all-original Blues album. A year-and-a-half in the making, "The Blues In Me" was released in June of 2010. This CD is a collection of various bluesy feels that lyrically, cover an emotional range from happy, sad, sarcastic, and uplifting, to just plain old fun! The opening song, "That Ain't Enough" is a rhythm guitar-driven R&B/Blues groove that, at live shows, has instantly provoked head-bobbing from the first note. "Let Me Be" is the CD's "down-and-dirty" blues track. It features an emotionally charged guitar, supported by a tasty piano and heavy bass line, featuring Allen Oliver on the keys. The title tune, "The Blues In Me" musically conjures thoughts of New Orleans, and features Lee Thorrnton and Rick Berardini on keys and harmonica, respectively. Lyrically, along with "A Little Time", 'The Blues In Me' goes on to explain the emotions that James experiences when playing, as well as listening to the Blues. "Ain't That A Shame" and "After 'While" feature the unbelievably talented 19 year old saxophonist Jacob Veloo who, as a testament to his skills, is currently a student at Berklee College Of Music in Boston. "Cab, Bartender", jokingly hailed as his "public service song" originally appeared on James' first CD, "Strange Mood". Through the first two CD's, it has been his most popular original song to play live. Thus, wanting to make it more bluesy, to improve the overall track, and to give it more exposure, James decided to re-record it for this project. All in all, whether you're a big Blues fan or not, this album is a fun listen.