Current cart in use:


In Stock













6-Track Sessions
  • Artist: Sasha Mercedes
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 757783001822
  • Item #: CDBY01822
  • Genre: Folk
  • Release Date: 6/13/2006
  • This product is a special order
Price: $19.14
Share Twitter

You May Also Like


6-Track Sessions on CD

Sasha Mercedes and Marky Baby met at a campfire jam years ago. Sasha recalls that Marky had brought a bassjo which he had made for his instrument of the evening. She was immediately impressed with his musicianship. It was a few years later, in 2005, that the two began playing together in a surf rock band. The band wanted a female drummer and though Sasha didn't exactly claim to fit that bill, she began drumming for the group. Marky was already playing sax for the band and it was a great thing while it lasted. Shortly after the two had started work with the 'Ditch Surfers' they began to play as a duet. Marky on both the bass or guitar 'and' drums! Mercedes continues to belt out the vocals and keep a strong and steady rhythm guitar going while Marky adds the little nuances that make the album '6-Track Sessions' what it is. The reason for it's title is the way the album manifested it's self. The two had met a record producer during that same summer of 2005 and he moved his studio from the twin cities to Bayfield so that the two could continue to work and play in the area while cutting albums at the same time. A falling out between Mercedes and the producer led her to the decision to produce and engineer the album from the comfort of her own home. Wanting a more organic sound than the mixes that she had been hearing from the record producer, Mercedes set the limit at 6-tracks of recordable instruments. The result being songs which are beautifully simple, yet complex in their own right. Fully orchestrated, yet not overdone would be the best way to describe the instrumentation of the album. The songs are in classic Mercedes form, taken from life experiences of either herself or those around her. Suicidal friends, drug addiction, love, resentment, life. These are the issues that some don't have the balls to tackle. Mercedes does so in a tasteful and articulate way, weaving together story with songcraft. This is an album not to be passed up.

We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details