Current cart in use:


In Stock












Live & Learn
  • Artist: Ocean Jones
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 796873076340
  • Item #: SRD307634
  • Genre: Rap/Hip Hop
  • Release Date: 6/10/2008
  • This product is a special order
Price: $19.14
Share Twitter

You May Also Like


Live & Learn on CD

Ocean Jones' 'Live and Learn' takes listeners on a journey through the ups and downs of life as we know it. The album is split into two different sides with two different endings. The Live side takes us on a wild ride of the party life and the rebellious side of Ocean, while the Learn side is more of a reflection on how Ocean has lived, and how he must change. The Live side starts off raw and in your face with songs such as '16 Bars' and 'Get Live' which grab listeners from the get go. These first couple of songs Ocean says are 'metaphors for how I was told to rap, and how I respond to the people who told me how to do what I do.' The Live side features the the two singles 'Summer Girl' featuring Stix Izza and Marcus J and 'This Is An Emergency'. 'This Is An Emergency' was produced by S.E.A. Producer of the Year, Fate Eastwood. Ocean states, ' 'This Is An Emergency' is my favorite song on the whole album because it perfectly describes who I am as an MC, and where I want to go with my music.' 'James Bond' follows 'This Is An Emergency' in which Ocean shows how he is the James Bond of the music industry. The Live side ends with the last party called 'No Tomorrow', where listeners reach the pinnacle of the good life. The Learn side opens with the political track 'I Believe' where Ocean shows the problems in todays society. The opening four lines on the second verse describe the track, Canidates promise I hope their being honest They say they will disarm us terrorists will not harm us And our own will not bomb us Be these are just predictions slow it down Nostradamus The two singles on the learn side are 'Mic Magician' featuring Gemini and 'Near or Far' featuring Marcus J. 'Mic Magician' shows off Ocean's lyrical ability as the song informs his audience on his upbringing and how he became a MC. 'Near or Far' is a love story that finds Ocean singing to his love that is miles away. The song is the 'Learn' equivalent of the 'Live' 'Summer Girl'. It is apparent that Ocean has grown to understand love, and he expresses it through this song. After 'Near or Far' the album goes to a dark place with the songs 'Crash' and 'When Music Saved My Life'. 'Crash' tells the story about Ocean losing his lover in a horrible crash, and the battle between the devil and angel in his head. 'When Music Saved My Life' is a song that discusses drug addiction, and how music can be an outlet to help one live. The album ends on 'Freedom Rings' which provides all of us with hope for a better world. In the end, Ocean's album 'Live and Learn' provides hip hop listeners with a fresh, new sound that reminds one of the days when songs trully had meanings. Each song on the album has a different theme which makes Ocean's ability so diverse. The sky is the limit for this 19 year old MC who got most of his beats by way of the internet. Just imagine what he will be able to do when he can work with real big time producers. Jay Wilson.

We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details