Current cart in use:


In Stock












Too Close for Comfort
  • Artist: Octobop
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 824729002028
  • Item #: 133041X
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Release Date: 12/28/2004
  • This product is a special order
Price: $14.68
Share Twitter

You May Also Like


Too Close for Comfort on CD

Cool jazz. Images of the early days on the West Coast when new ideas, harmonies, ensemble playing and great improvisation were all happening. Recreating and updating that experience is the mission of Octobop. Performing and promoting the music that began with The Birth of the Cool -- and the innovations of Gerry Mulligan, Chet Baker, Shorty Rogers, Bud Shank, Bob Cooper, Dave Pell, Jimmy Guiffre, and Howard Rumsey among others -- Octobop makes cool jazz hot again. Octobop plays the finest in West Coast Jazz. On it's latest CD, Too Close For Comfort, recorded with the help of Bud Shank, you'll hear: Fallin' In Love With Love - Swing version of Rogers and Hart standard Four Others - Jimmy Giuffre tune recorded by Howard Rumsey's Lighthouse All Stars Too Close For Comfort - Features Dean Jennings on tenor sax Relaxin - Jimmy Guinn for Al Belletto Forty-Second Street - Shorty Rogers arrangement - dark and mysterious Flight Of The Foo Birds / Would He - Fun romp arranged by Bob Eberhart Godchild - From the 'Birth of the Cool' album that started it all Cheek to Cheek - Danceable - of, course Out of Somewhere - Smooth ballad from Jimmy Giuffre and the Lighthouse All Stars Coop De Graas - From Shorty Rogers - Cool and Crazy Bernie's Tune - Extends the original Gerry Mulligan Quartet version into a rousing closer for the album - features everyone. Arrangers for the CD include Shorty Rogers, Wes Hensel, Bob Eberhart, and Geoff Roach.

We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details