Current cart in use:


In Stock












Leave That World Behind
  • Artist: Oenyaw
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 634479431661
  • Item #: SRD943166
  • Genre: Electronic
  • Release Date: 5/15/2007
  • This product is a special order
Price: $16.76
Share Twitter

You May Also Like


Leave That World Behind on CD

This CD is presented on an MP3 formatted disc, due to it's length of 5 hours and 13 minutes. It can be downloaded on a comtuer as a file, no CD ripping software necessary. It can also be played on any MP3 disc playback system. What is Oenyaw about? Long, forget about time. No drums, no vocals. Like being in the back of the casino playing the nickle draw poker machine until 5 am. Why? Because I wanted to do music that didn't end. I was tired of the switching, tired of 'what should I put on next?' emptiness. If I have to drive/travel for five hours, I want it to last. If I'm at work, and I put on a disc, I don't want to have to think about changing it before lunchtime. If I am at home reading a book, I don't want to have to get up if the book gets really good. Oenyaw is about not being disturbed. Oenyaw is about being alone, bored, nothingness, and enjoying it. Who am I targeting? Everyone that stays up late playing games or surfing the net or reads or draws or colors or does cross-word puzzles or any puzzle for that matter. Leave That World Behind The Tutor Of Achilles 26:02 The title is taken from a line in the film '2010: The Year We Make Contact.' As the programmer tells the computer he is opening a new file named Phoenix, he asks the computer if it knows what the term Phoenix means. The computer replies that it has 23 references to that word. The programmer asks which reference the computer believes is the correct reference. The computer replies 'The tutor of Achilles?'; a reference the programmer is not aware of. The composition is a construction piece, playing a specific note at different octaves within a loop and filtering the loop while recording. Each loop is recorded onto a separate track and then each track is filtered and treated. The tracks are ultimately mixed together, making up the composition. Greenland 59:28 Hoping to call attention to the environmental catastrophe which is taking place in Greenland. As close to a live piece as possible: recorded in one afternoon, one take, no overdubs. Thanks to Cleo and Munchkin for attending. The Reasonably Well-Tempered Assembly Line 68:28 Another construction piece. Each note was recorded in a 2 minute loop, with the loops arranged into place according to a written composition. Each track is assigned a step filter and a position in space between the right and left channels. The intention is an industrial fantasy of an assembly line which plays music after the humans have vacated the premises. Eye Ten 65:57 A heavy-metal/industrial ambient piece. The camshafts view of a trip down the highway. Cicadas Lullaby 77:51 An insect bolero. Living in a forest as I do, I am heavily influenced by the sounds of the night, primarily that of insects, frogs, and wild turkeys. This one is dedicated to the cicadas. Leave That World Behind 15:10 A short construction piece which took up way too much memory to be forgotten.

We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details