Current cart in use:


In Stock












No East No West
  • Artist: Oneness
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 634479273438
  • Item #: SRD927343
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Release Date: 3/7/2006
  • This product is a special order
Price: $21.46
Share Twitter

You May Also Like


No East No West on CD

About Oneness Ensemble: Oneness Ensemble unites musicians from diverse styles such as jazz, classical and ethnic music. Oneness's original choice of instrumentation and freedom in the compositional process make it a unique 'multiethnic chamber jazz ensemble '. The original band combining musicians of different nationalities (Brazil, Italy, India and Japan) is the brainchild of Brazilian composer Carlos da Costa Coelho. Coelho's music flows from his experiences in South America, Europe and Asia, fusing different styles which range from classical to ethnic; from contemporary music to jazz The versatility of Oneness has enabled the band to perform in numerous theatres, halls, and squares in different festivals and venues around Europe. Their music has been chosen by film directors and choreographers and their pieces are often broadcast on different radio stations around the world. In May 2005 the ensemble wrote part of the soundtrack for the documentary "With Michelangelo" directed by Enrica Antonioni with and about the Italian movie master Michelangelo Antonioni. About the album No East No West 'I wrote the compositions for No East No West carefully choosing and blending together scales, chords and rhythms from different musical traditions in an attempt to express a sense of unity and love for all". (C.C. Coelho) Dialogues amongst Brazilian melodies, dance motifs from Bengal, European folk styles, jazz improvisation, Chinese and Southeast Asian ambience, Latin American moods and chamber music all become colours from the same musical palette with the scope of expressing our common feelings and emotions.' Sabrina Agosto: flute - alto flute Andrea Bressan: bassoon Aya Shimura: cello Andrea Bolinelli: nylon guitar Romano Todesco: accordion Giovanni Maier: doublebass Saverio Tasca: vibraphone - marimba - steel drum Arup Kanti Das: tabla - udu - bendir - dholak Carlos C. Coelho: guitars - timple - percussion Guest artists: Ole Brekke: narrator Karin Lidman: inner illustration All Compositions by Carlos da Costa Coelho.

We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details