Show results for


In Stock
















Ray Charles
  • Artist: Ray Charles
  • Label: Analogue Prod.
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • UPC: 753088750779
  • Item #: 2597404X
  • Genre: Soul/R & B
  • Release Date: 1/19/2024
List Price: $73.99
Price: $66.52
You Save: $7.47 (10%)

You May Also Like


Ray Charles on LP

Analogue Productions (Atlantic Series) Celebrating the 75th Anniversary of Atlantic Records! Iconic musician and singer Ray Charles' classic 1957 album! Includes the hits 'Hallelujah I Love Her So,' 'Ain't That Love' and 'I Got a Woman' 180-gram 45 RPM double LP Mastered directly from the original master tape by Bernie Grundman Pressed at Quality Record Pressings and RTI Tip-on old style gatefold double pocket jackets with film lamination by Stoughton Printing Ray Charles' self-titled 1957 album was one of the first handful of LPs issued by Atlantic (and was later retitled Hallelujah I Love Her So). As AllMusic reviewer Bruce Elder notes, the album is weighted about three to one in favor of Charles' own compositions, with the hits 'Hallelujah I Love Her So' and the pounding, soaring 'Ain't That Love,' which opens the LP, it's raison d'etre. Charles does just as well with his interpretations of others' work, most notably the ominous, gospel-focused rendition of 'Sinner's Prayer' (which offers a virtuoso piano performance, and comes courtesy of the pen of Charles' former mentor Lowell Fulson) and Henry Glover's wrenching ballad 'Drown in My Own Tears,' which is topped out on each verse by a gorgeous chorus. 'Funny (But I Still Love You)' offers a guitar break played in such an understated fashion that it almost doesn't seem so much a part of R&B as it was usually being offered in 1957 as it does a part of Charles' early career output. The second side of the LP is even better, opening with the title track, a number that is almost too ubiquitous in it's various cover versions - the original has a mix of urgency and playfulness that's absolutely bracing, and the album carries this mood forward with 'Mess Around,' an Ahmet Ertegun-authored piano- and sax-driven romp with Charles at his most ebullient as a singer. 'This Little Girl of Mine' offers him in a surprisingly light, almost acrobatic vocal mode, while 'Greenbacks' is a knowing, clever cautionary narrative that is almost a throwback to 1940s-style R&B. 'Don't You Know' is as salacious a piece of R&B as one was likely to hear in 1957, and 'I Got a Woman' closes the record out on a pounding, driving note. All the hallmarks of a top-notch Analogue Productions reissue are here for you to savor: Mastered directly from the original master tape by Bernie Grundman and cut at 45 RPM. Pressed at Quality Record Pressings and RTI, and housed in tip-on old style gatefold double pocket jackets with film lamination by Stoughton Printing.


1 Ain't That Love 2 Drown In My Own Tears 3 Come Back Baby 4 Sinner's Prayer 5 Funny (But I Still Love You) 6 Losing Hand 7 A Fool For You 8 Hallelujah I Love Her So 9 Mess Around 10 This Little Girl Of Mine 11 Mary Ann 12 Greenbacks 13 Don't You Know 14 I Got A Woman