Current cart in use:


In Stock











One Daywill Subside
  • Artist: Realm7G
  • UPC: 811204011903
  • Item #: SRD401190
  • Genre: Rock
  • Release Date: 9/15/2009
  • This product is a special order
  • Rank: 1000000000
Price: $14.64
Share Twitter

You May Also Like


One Daywill Subside on CD

The Realm7G music projects, which are produced, written, and/or arranged by Barry Neely, brings musicians from all genres into the progressive rock world. "One Day...Will Subside" travels through heavy verses and interludes, acoustic and folk sections as well as mellow grooves. To accomplish this type of composition requires the work of some very skillful and diverse performers. Featured in the project are 13 musicians from bands like Boston-based Seneca, solo-artist Syd, the Bay Area's Absent Society and other LA, New York, Bay Area, and Boston-based musicians. Each member was picked to bring significant talent and a personal sound to the piece. Barry's role in this project was to compose, produce and add the bass lines, leaving the majority of what you hear to be the musicians doing what they do best. The hope for whoever listens is that within the individual artists' performances they find some unfamiliar genres that they turn out to enjoy. Early reviews from the pre-release: 'Cool lines...neatly interwoven melodies. The strong individual instruments add up to a complementary whole.' 'Lots of momentum and drive.' 'Like getting hit with a sledge hammer... Intense and compelling.' 'It's rare, even in prog rock, for the bass to play such a prominent role. Long instrumental sections are par the course for prog rock, but something I find that it doesn't feel contrived. It's not so much a song as it is a work of music.' 'It was nice to hear female singers in prog rock not pretending to do opera...the music seems to be creating an environment for the mood of the lyrics.' The story and time line for the making of the project is as follows (from the liner notes): "One Day...Will Subside" is a project 7 years in the making 2002 - Boston, MA: While finishing another extensive music project, "Escaping Familiar Verses", I came up with a short, 5-word melody somewhere in dreamland that became the 35-minute piece you now hold. 2004 - Norwell, MA: Once the bulk of the composition was completed early in the year, Seneca drummer Brad Caetano and I drove to my hometown to record the drums for what I now consider the first draft of the piece. Allston, MA: For the lyrics, all I knew was the concept that I wanted, so I brought in author and friend Phoebe Sinclair. She was able to craft lines that I could immediately hear musically in my head. 2005 - Los Angeles, CA: The actual recording process began with vocalist Jessica Jimenez, who has been a staple in my music projects. Like always, she performed beautifully, despite being given a short rehearsal timeline. Bay Area, CA: I had played with the band Absent Society for a short while, so I specifically crafted the pinnacle of the piece for the intense vocal style of Jason Everett and the fluid, heavy guitar lines of Justin Burdt. Brooklyn & New York, NY: When I wanted a specific sound for the verses, Brad Caetano recommended his band-mate, vocalist Jon Hassell, who had the perfect mix of calmness and passion. | New York also gave me a chance to record Emily Petrain's haunting vocals at the All-Souls Church in Manhattan, although finding it would somehow mean walking through Central Park at 10pm with all my equipment on my back. Boston, MA: Guitarist Dan Cunningham, also a Seneca member, had an improvisational style that was perfect for the verses for which I had only two small sections written. Norwell, MA: Pianist Alexander Gordon and I recorded at the historic James Library where a number of chamber music concerts are held each year. Alex also helped contribute to the piano/bass duet. Los Angeles, CA: Vermont native and musician Syd is out in LA often on tour and I was glad to throw some odd-time signature acoustic parts at him, which he played effortlessly. Writing and scheduling delays caused a wait of almost 3 years to record his vocal lines, but I was glad to bring him back onto the project in 2008. 2006 - Pembroke, MA: Drummer Jason Wallack, who I originally had only used for one section of the interlude, turned out to be the best choice to play on the whole piece, which included 9/8, 7/16, and 13/16 bars. 2008 - Los Angeles, CA: Guitarist Jon Weed was recommended to me and we met for the first time on the day we recorded. The session took only a few hours and he didn't even break a sweat. | After seeing her handle Yes's 'Mood For A Day' on the acoustic, I knew guitarist Nina Markert would add some class to the post-breakdown section. | While working together on music for a film project, I snagged a loop from drummer Michael Kagey. Omaha, NE: When I was here on a job, I finally had the time to craft and record the music box for track 11. I felt the authenticity of a real music box would be far better than any synthesized sound. Philadelphia, PA: The only clock sound in existence perfect for the ending was in my relatives' house, which technically marked the final recording session of the piece.