Current cart in use:


In Stock













Brooklyn Sketches
  • Artist: Shan Kenner
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 884501025362
  • Item #: 206703X
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Release Date: 9/2/2008
  • This product is a special order
Price: $20.69
Share Twitter

You May Also Like


Brooklyn Sketches on CD

I haven\'t heard the fine jazz piece \'\'Windows\'\' played so consummately as I\'ve heard Kenner\'s trio deliver it. This is superbly structured and compelling small group mainstream jazz, executed by three \'dedicated for the sake of art\' jazz artists. Shan in particular has a wonderful propensity to proffer somewhat of a suspended dissonance to drive his music forward. He succeeds at this succinctly. The motives of the combined band seem pure in that the band seems to bring a higher quality of music and art form to folks one might not think one could reach. They\'re definitely keepers. George W Carroll The Musicians\' Ombudsman SHAN KENNER RAW TRIO NYC Based Guitarist Shan Kenner, releases his long awaited debut CD: Brooklyn Sketches, An active performer/Jazz artist for almost two decades, This Raw Trio Recording Finds Shan in prime form, recorded Just 9 months after Shan's arrival to New York relocating from San Francisco (born in Los Angeles, CA). Recorded live in the studio in a classic jazz type setting no overdubs or second takes Brooklyn Sketches tells Shan\'s musical stories of his new founded love affair with New York City, Brooklyn (His home) and the shaping of musical influences that fellow musicians, artists and the provocative rich history NYC has given him. This Self-Produced CD: Brooklyn Sketches is a high energy Jazz Guitar Trio Experience showcasing Shan's Affinity for hard driving rhythm sections with powerful discourse between Bassist Ryan Berg and stalwart Drummer Rudy Royston, Right from the start it becomes apparent that the listener has an engaging sonic journey hearing influential echoes of masters Like John Coltrane, Pat Martino, Pat Metheny from the opening track "The Bulldog" to almost Classical Fanfare via the introduction of the title cut "Brooklyn Sketches" and a fresh new perspective revisiting Chick Corea's "Windows" and Miles Davis "Blue In Green" and closing with a reminiscent Solo Guitar piece "Evan" 9 songs in all Brooklyn Sketches is poised as an lasting effort by this exuburant, innovative up and coming trio.

We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details