Current cart in use:


In Stock













Chop Chop
  • Artist: Shwa Losben
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 700261228273
  • Item #: SRD122827
  • Genre: Rock
  • Release Date: 12/4/2007
  • This product is a special order
Price: $17.68
Share Twitter

You May Also Like


Chop Chop on CD

'(Chop Chop) is haunting, revealing levels past just the usual singer-songwriter ennui. Sounds like Elliott Smith at times, but that's unfair. Losben is his own man. With the voice and chops worthy of repeated listens, you'll get lost in this disc. And be glad you did.' On Tap Magazine "...The search for the next worthwhile troubadour is over. He could be Ryan Adams without the whiskey or Conor Oberst without the whine. At the end of the day, Losben is an inspired singer-songwriter who holds the promise of carrying more tricks and insight up his sleeve." "...packs plenty of rhythmic vitality and melodic appeal." The Washington Post 'The independent release Chop Chop is the first solo effort for singer/songwriter Shwa (Joshua) Losben. This is the kind of album you find yourself listening to over and over again, while gleaning something new and insightful each time. Losben's vocals are reminiscent of early Neil Young but the songwriting reminds me more or bands like R.E.M., Radiohead, Jack Johnson and others. This is a rare and great find; a true indie release that doesn't suck.' '...A talented and charismatic singer and songwriter. Shwa writes solid pop songs and performs them with precision and distinct vocals.' --Jezebel Music Recorded in January 2007 in Austin, Texas, Chop Chop, is a collection of 11 songs that Losben wrote in 2006 while living in DC, London, Philadelphia, and New York. Drawing comparisons to early Elliott Smith, Chop Chop features rich vocal melodies over diverse instruments including guitars, bass, keys, electronic beats, mandolin, cello, and distorted mouth trumpet. "We were just having a great time recording and wanted an album that reflected that," Losben said. With tracks like "Myriah," a nostalgic song about a love that never was and "Chop Chop," a tirade against the modern work ethic, Losben proves his creativity as a songwriter who writes without stylistic conventions. "Lyrically it's a big step," Losben said. "Every song tells a story from a unique perspective." Over the past two years, Losben has cultivated a highly devoted fan base by playing over 200 shows at prestigious venues including The Black Cat in Washington, DC, World Café Live in Philadelphia, Rockwood Music Hall in New York City, and 12 Bar Club in London. He has appeared with diverse acts from Carbon Leaf to Kanye West, and was recently accompanied by David Immurgluck and Charlie Gillingham of the Counting Crows at a New York show. Losben is also the frontman of Washington DC's critically acclaimed alt-rock outfit Shwa. Their debut album Just a Thought spawned the infectious "Come On," which The Washington Post named one of the ten best songs of the year. On Tap magazine described the album as "hook-heavy, radio ready songs that reflect elements of Travis and Coldplay but stand on their own merits." And Claire Kember of praised their music as "finely-crafted lovelorn songs with strong melodies." Chop Chop was produced by long-time friends and fellow musicians Johnny Goudie and Taylor Davis. The album also features Dony Wynn on percussion, Bradley Oliver on bass, and Steve Bernal on cello. Chop Chop will be available in select stores and online retailers including iTunes,, and CD Baby.

We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details