Current cart in use:


In Stock









As the Orchestra Swells
  • Artist: Steve Biegner
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 673885060126
  • Item #: CDBY506012
  • Genre: Folk
  • Release Date: 8/29/2006
  • This product is a special order
  • Rank: 1000000000
Price: $14.95

You May Also Like


As the Orchestra Swells on CD

SInce the Fall of 2005, Steve Biegner, Adam Bach, and Brian Sloan have been working on Steve Biegner's new album 'As the Orchestra Swells (the lights go out).' Now, almost a year later, they are done. They had a little help from Gideon Freudmann who provided the brooding cello and other strange noises; from Matt Larsen who played some sweet piano and organ on some tunes; from Ross Bellenoit of the Systematics who played a sometimes angry, sometimes soothing guitar; and from Erin Cleary who gave us her beautiful voice and her beautiful artwork. Dave Chalfant produces this new record, and he expertly captures the organic sound of the acoustic instruments as well as the intensity the trio has during live shows. He knew when to say 'enough,' on tracks such as the sparse 'Onward! To Purgatory!!.' And he also knew when to say 'more' like with 'Prodigal Son,' a very Sufjan Stevens influenced song, or 'A Window, a Vault...' which is a very big, grand, and lush in it's orchestration. He also knew when to say, 'Is anybody hungry?' and yes, feasts did abound! All in all, the trio is very happy with what has become 'As the Orchestra Swells (the lights go out).' They all hope that you 'drink a dream so heavenly, God pines for your revery. '...a blend of Nick Drake and Jeff Buckley, Steve Biegner is going places.' - Local Buzz Magazine.