Current cart in use:


In Stock













Manic Blue
  • Artist: Steve Biegner
  • Label: CD Baby
  • UPC: 634479158148
  • Item #: SRD915814
  • Genre: Folk
  • Release Date: 4/19/2005
  • This product is a special order
Price: $19.19
Share Twitter

You May Also Like


Manic Blue on CD

Three months after Stephen's mother went into labor, Stephen came out of the womb, unwillingly. Manic Blue, his independently recorded album, will also leave you pining for the womb again. Okay, not at all. And although it did take 3 days and a pair of salad tongs to get Steve out here into the world, you probably won't yearn to be back in your mother's womb. But if you do, more power to you. Steve's been making music for a long time, and he's only 20. At 15 he had joined his cousin's band, the Smokejumpers and the two played to enthusiastic crowds all over the New England area. Steve had already recorded one CD called 'Radiolara.' Sometime in the Fall of 2002, he decided to start recording some of his newer songs. Armed with a guitar, a piano, drums and a four-track, Steve set to work recording his newest songs in his basement. Guitar in his room; piano in his living-room; vocals in the shower. All of his recording endeavors yielded 'Manic Blue,' a collection of wintry sounding songs, with the warmth of Spring lingering behind all of them. Songs such as 'February's Moon' and 'Circle Song' bring to mind the droning tunings and haunting vocals of Nick Drake, while his voice on others, like 'Providence,' have made others think of Jeff Buckley. He released the CD in the Spring of 2003 when he was 17 years old. Now, in 2005, Steve is playing with his upright bassist from the Smokejumpers, Adam Bach, and his drummer Brian Sloan. The three have been creating a buzz at each place they play, wowing the crowd with their energetic and heartfelt perfomances. They have just finished up a new CD recorded, mixed, and mastered by Dave Chalfant (the Nields, Erin McKeown, Stephen Kellogg). They are very proud of it. Gideon Freudmann guests on cello, and there's also so dobro, electric guitar, and hootin' and hollerin'. The album is called 'As the Orchestra Swells (the lights go out)' and it will be available on Aug. 18th.

We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details